News Releases

August 25, 2011

Three Emory Eye Center physicians honored in "135 Leading Ophthalmologists in America" listing

Media contact: Joy Bell, 404-778-3711

(ATLANTA) Three Emory Eye Center physicians have been elected to Becker’s ASC (Ambulatory Surgery Centers) Review’s “135 Leading Ophthalmologists in America” list. Honorees are selected based on the awards they have received from major organizations in the field, leadership in those organizations, work on professional publications and their positions of service. 

The three, who have busy clinical practices, also contribute to the education and training of residents and fellows at Emory. One is an editor of a major medical journal, one chairs the department and one has directed the residency program for 12 years. Additionally, within the listing of 135 ophthalmologists, some six physicians so honored trained at Emory Eye Center in either the residency of fellowship program.

They are:

Maria M. Aaron, MDMaria M. Aaron, MD

Dr. Aaron is an associate professor of ophthalmology at Emory University School of Medicine, having served on the faculty since 1999. Her clinical interests include adult comprehensive ophthalmology, particularly diabetic retinopathy and cataract surgery. She has been president of the Program Directors' Council of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology, vice chair of the Ophthalmology Residency Review Committee and an associate examiner for the Oral Board Examination of the American Board of Ophthalmology.

In the past few years, Dr. Aaron has become a known expert on the training of the ophthalmology residents. She served as Emory Eye Center’s (EEC) Residency Program director from 1999 to 2011, during which time she trained and mentored more than 70 residents and 30 medical students. In the past two years, she has received both the Parker J. Palmer “Courage to Teach” Program Director Excellence Award from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) to 10 outstanding program directors for their commitment to teaching and the prestigious Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education which recognizes the critical role of the program. The award was dually conferred by the presidents of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and the American University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO).

Dr. Aaron is a sought-after speaker, particularly for residency program director sessions on a variety of graduate medical education topics. Her most recent interest is in the area of generational differences in academic medicine.

Dr. Aaron earned her medical degree from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. She completed her internship at Georgia Baptist Medical Center, Atlanta, and her residency in ophthalmology at Emory Eye Center. Since 2000, she has been the chief of service at the Emory University Midtown Hospital facility.

Timothy W. Olsen, MDTimothy W. Olsen, MD

Dr. Olsen is the F. Phinizy Calhoun Professor of Ophthalmology, and has served as the director of the Emory Eye Center and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology in the Emory School of Medicine since January 2008. He also serves on the board of The Emory Clinic. Dr. Olsen’s clinical expertise is in age-related macular degeneration (AMD), diabetic retinopathy, complex retinal detachment surgery, and pediatric retinal disorders.

Dr. Olsen collaborates with biomedical engineers at Georgia Tech in Atlanta for the development of new surgical instrumentation to address advanced AMD. Additionally, his research team is developing novel methods of drug delivery, such as the suprachoroidal route using small microcannulae and nanoparticle systems.

Dr. Olsen has an active surgical lab, using advanced surgical techniques in the pig model of various vitreoretinal disorders. He holds three patents. As principal investigator on many separate grants, his grants total funding is currently at just over $4.68 million for research.

Dr. Olsen holds leadership positions in the Macula Society, American Ophthalmologic Society, American Academy of Ophthalmology and Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. He is active member of the Retina Society and the Society of Heed Fellows.

Having earned his medical degree from the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Dr. Olsen completed an ophthalmology residency at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis and a vitreoretinal fellowship at Emory University. He serves as an executive editor for the American Journal of Ophthalmology, and the editorial board for Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science, and Ocular Surgery News.

J. Bradley Randleman, MDJ. Bradley Randleman, MD

Dr. Randleman is associate professor of ophthalmology at Emory University School of Medicine, having served on the faculty since 2002. He serves as director of the Emory corneal fellowship program. He currently serves as editor in chief of the Journal of Refractive Surgery and associate editor for the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery.

Dr. Randleman was presented the Claes Dohlman Society Award for excellence in cornea and refractive surgery training, the Secretariat Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Binkhorst Young Ophthalmologist Award from the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS). He was also awarded the ASCRS Foundation Research Grant for his work on LASIK procedures. In 2011, he was presented the Kritzinger Memorial Award, given by the International Society of Refractive Surgery of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, to honor an ophthalmologist who exemplifies the clinical, educational and investigative qualities of the late Dr. Michiel S Kritzinger of South Africa, who advanced the international practice of refractive surgery.

Dr. Randleman received his medical degree at Texas Tech University School of Medicine, Lubbock. He completed both his residency in ophthalmology and fellowship in cornea, external disease, and refractive surgery at Emory Eye Center. He served as chief resident from 2002-03.


Our Emory campus location:

Copyright © Emory Eye Center - All Rights Reserved | Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA